I will avenge; I will repay.

“9/11/01: Never Forget; Never Forgive.”

19 Beloved,never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” 20 To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” 21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. – Romans 12: 19-21

The first quote came from a patch I saw an EMT wearing today.  It had a big American flag to go with it, as if to say such a thing were very patriotic.  If that’s patriotism, I want nothing to do with it.  For a country supposedly based on the Bible and God, we really do a piss-poor job of sticking to it.  The fact that we will hold this grudge forever bothers me, especially with what we’re doing to remember it: waging war, building monuments over Ground Zero and the crash site in Somerset County, PA, and making patches, stickers, and decals that say things like that.  We’re acting like the 10-year-old who still won’t forgive the kid who knocked out bike over on purpose, and it’s pathetic.  We’re better than this.

If you claim to be a Christian, and still think with this mindset, then you do not truly have faith in God.

Truly, if we ever were a Christian nation (and I think it’s time we stopped claiming we ever were, but that’s another post for another day), we’ve lost our faith in the Christian God.  No, I’m not calling for America to repent; I just want it to start either being honest about whom it serves, or begin to question the morals and double standards it exercises every day.  Call me a cynic if you must, but I’ve had enough of trusting America for anything, especially when I have a savior who has promised to be with me to the end of the age. America cannot offer me that promise.

This is really all I have today, y’all.  We’ll pick things up again Monday.  Later.

One thought on “I will avenge; I will repay.

  1. So true. We have forgotten to forgive and to love others especially when harm has been done. We all need to learn to love not just how we think that love should be; but how we know that Jesus loved. The sacrificial love that is shown even when we have been hurt.

Leave a Reply

