New Year’s A Comin’…

So I think I really ran out of steam on nonviolence.  Don’t get me wrong; I still support and promote nonviolence, and in the last year, through reading, researching, and spectating at (and sometimes participating in; thanks Occupy Harrisburg) different nonviolent political movements, I’ve shaped and reshaped a lot of my understandings of political and social issues.

I was on unannounced hiatus for awhile there.  I guess I was getting sick of writing about the same stuff all the time and no one really reading it (though I have noticed that the less I post, the more views I get when I do). Point is: after too long of writing about the same thing and reading about the same thing, you do sort of burn out.  Of course, I was focusing on one tree in the forest of Christian living, one drop in the ocean of being a Christian and following Christ.  You can only do that for so long before you want to move on to another tree, another drop.

So what am I moving on to?  No idea. I know I’ve missed writing a good bit.  In my hiatus, I focused more on finding a new job (which I did), fixing a few things in my newborn marriage (which will always be a work in progress, but I was successful here as well), and a new reading goal of no purchasing books for an entire year (kinda cheated by getting a lot of free books in the last month, but we’ll be amending the agreement at the start of the year).  What I’m trying to do now is make my life more interesting.  That doesn’t mean my life sucks right now, but I feel that I’m a more well-rounded person than I let on, and though I live in what I would call one of the most boring cities in the USA, there are some interesting things around here, and I have access to the whole world through a wireless hot spot, so why not explore and write about my journeys?

That being said, this blog is going to shift its focus a little in the New Year.  Call it part of my resolutions if you want.  I promise to focus on one group of subjects, and not just write what comes to mind.  If I do that, you folks are going to lose interest VERY quickly.

Anyway, we’ll see what happens in 2012!

Leave a Reply

