Review of Abraham Heschel’s “Man Is Not Alone: A Philosophy of Religion.”

Man Is Not Alone : A Philosophy of ReligionMan Is Not Alone : A Philosophy of Religion by Abraham Joshua Heschel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am completely floored after reading this book. Heschel, a Jewish theologian, communicates in a way that very few, if any, Christian theologians today understand God (though some have clearly been inspired by this man).

I think the big thing that I’m taking away from this book is the connections that exist here between Judaism and Christianity. To ignore our Jewish roots as Christians is to commit a great error in our thinking we are so independent. For example, when Heschel speaks of the Shechinah flame over the pious man’s head, and references OT scriptures, an observant reader will easily find the connection between this understanding of Jewish religion and the day of Pentecost mentioned in the book of Acts, where tongues of fire stood on the heads of those the Spirit of God descended upon that day. Again, as a Christian myself, I cannot, and no longer will, ignore my Jewish roots.

The first part of the book was wonderful as well, functioning as almost a proof for the existence of God through describing the Ineffable, that which man cannot explain. Heschel refuses to dismiss the unknown as not worth knowing, and pursues it relentlessly. Though no one can fully prove God’s existence, Heschel does an excellent job trying.

I will be returning to this book in the future. Mark my words.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

