Still On the Campaign Trail, Taking a Look at Paul In Fresh Perspective

So I’m giving the two book thing another go here.  Also put up a new page, in case you didn’t notice.  Everything in it comes from Mortimer Adler’s book How To Read a Book:The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading. I actually plan on using the steps outlined in the book while I do this blog here (to some extent) so my thoughts don’t come across as quite so scatterbrained. That being said, let me introduce my new book.

Title: Paul In Fresh Perspective

Author: NT Wright. Former Archbishop of Durham, Current Professor at St. Andrews University in Scotland.

Publisher: Fortress Press, 2009. Published in Collaboration with SPCK, 2005.

Unity of the book: NT Wright examines the life of Paul and the interpretations of his writings through historical and narrative contexts.

Initial thoughts:  I’ve actually been waiting to read this book for a particularly long time.  I’ve been hearing about the New Perspective on Paul as presented by scholars such as James D.G. Dunn and E.P. Sanders, and, though I don’t know much about it, I know that NT Wright is just the man to make sense of the matter and bring both sides to agreement on how we understand Paul in the Second Temple Judaic context.  From what I gathered from the first chapter, Wright views Paul as a part of four worlds: Judaism, Hellenistic Greek culture, the Roman Empire, and the Messianic teachings of Jesus the Christ.  These four worlds shaped the things that Paul wrote, and from them, we can understand better how to interpret Paul and lead a life according to this understanding.  I’ll elaborate more once I understand the different camps in the New Perspective, but for now, this is what I got.  This is going to be part one of three books I read on the subject, the other two being John Piper’s response to this book, and NT Wrights response in return.  Really, I just wanted to see what all the hubbub was about (apparently Piper had some issues with the way NT Wright presented salvation).  Should be fun!

(Meanwhile, across the library…)

I am still working my way through On the Campaign Trail at the moment, but that’s turned more into my fun reading, and I don’t intend to apply Adler’s methods to that book.  Though it is written as a sort of historical account of the 1972 Presidential Election, it’s mostly first-hand experience of the author, and while that’s not a bad thing, it really doesn’t fit the analytical reading mold.  I feel like I’m more to enjoy Hunter Thompson and his thoughts on what’s going on around him as opposed to picking them apart (though it has generated some good thoughts on government for me).

Anyhow, that’s all for today.  Make sure you give the new page a good look!  I found these methods (which I’ve drastically scaled down for you) very helpful in my reading, and intend to apply them to the book mention above.  See you folks on Monday.

One thought on “Still On the Campaign Trail, Taking a Look at Paul In Fresh Perspective

  1. Pingback: Paul In Fresh Perspective: Initial Thoughts | Reading To Live

Leave a Reply

