Overview: Progress Since Last Week

Alright, so the library books are going back. I’m really not good at this juggling books business, and as fascinating as Green Metropolis can be, it just makes it harder to get through Paul. As for <Democracy Matters, right now, I really couldn’t care less about it.

I’m at chapter 3 of Paul in Fresh Perspective and it’s making my head hurt. Just sayin’.

Kinda noticing something here: WordPress has this lovely little feature on my dashboard page called “stats” which shows me how many hits my blog gets per day. I like to call it my self-esteem meter. With my posts being a tad more erratic, my averages are trending a little lower than I’d like with the occasional spike way up into the 40s (for someone like me, that’s not bad). Then I notice my top posts. About 6-7 months ago, I think, I put up a post about Banksy, the graffiti artist, and that post alone can generate over 150 hits in a week for me. On the bright side, that’s a lot of hits; on the down side, no one seems to give a rip about everything else I write.

Honestly, and this might be because I’m writing this at a late hour, hoping to get a head start, I sometimes wonder if I give a rip about this. I still love theology, don’t get me wrong, but basically, right now, I’m parrotting back information I’m reading back to you, the reader.

What do you care about what I’m reading and you aren’t? Or, if you prefer I don’t whine so much, what good does it do me to parrot back information to you without discussing its implications in a succinct manner if you too are not reading that book?

Blogs aren’t meant for solely the regurgitation of information, in my opinion, and that’s what this has all been. From now on, I am only going to utilize enough of the information to explain my thoughts on a book and, hopefully, still create discussion.

See all of you with a more specific post on Wright on Monday.

3 thoughts on “Overview: Progress Since Last Week

  1. I think this goes to my post – decide carefully what a win for you is. For me, the blog is an outlet for mental exercise in general and reactions to reading in particular. In short, the reader you have to please is you.

    On that note, I ‘ve experienced similar frustrations – traffic generates statistics, but I really want to know what readers think (and have an outlet to revisit prior thoughts). I.e., you ‘ll determine whether you ‘re receiving appropriate feedback or if you can be content with traffic without interaction — I have faith you ‘ll strike a decent balance (and I like a goodly portion of what I ‘m reading even if I do n’t plan on digging into N.T. too heavily in the future [we OT guys can be jerks that way]) with an adequate reward system.

  2. Actually, I did read that post of yours. I wrote a good portion of this late Wednesday night, feeling the same frustrations you did. I think I’m aiming more for interaction, which is, in my opinion, harder to generate that just traffic. Traffic can be generated simply by writing posts on whatever the hot news topic is and tagging it. That’s how I get spikes because of a post on Banksy.

    Then again, I think we all want our blogs to be that hub where everyone comes and discusses what we’re writing. Oh well. Soldier on, I guess.

    • Precisamente – I know which posts I’m most proud of and those usually are n’t the ones that get traffic or generate discussion.

      The first Bethke/Driscoll post, however, resulted in a fair dialogue and a 2 hour phone conversation with Dan about the role of discipline in the church (it’s to bring the unrepentant to repentance after which to offer help, at least that was our conclusion).

      Anyway, good luck henceforth – I think writing summaries helps you better grasp the details of what you’re reading so next time you won’t start from scratch. In time, we’ll both likely start to generate the feedback/interaction we’re looking for. Until then, cheers for doing something stretching with little of the intended reward given.

Leave a Reply

