Friday State of the Blog!

So, NT Wright’s book, Justification: God’s Plan and Paul’s Vision, is coming along nicely.  I’m onto chapter three, where Wright gets into the thick of Law-Court metaphor. His writing here is a lot different from some of his other books; there’s definitely an academic side to this, though this one has a bit of an edge to it.  While he seems to be doing all the can to not hulk out over his opponents accusing him of things that they’ve misunderstood, there’s definitely a slight edge in his tone.  It’s also a bit more fast paced, at least through the first two chapters.  I haven’t gotten far into chapter three yet, because when you have a respiratory bug, and you’re coughing and hacking so much your head pounds, you tend to not want to read theological treatises (polemics in this case? not sure…) on justification by faith alone.  However, I should be done with this before I do my Boston train ride reading marathon in a few weeks.  Got quite a bit of time off next week.

I also picked up another book off my shelf, finally tapping into my poetry reserves (sort of): Edward Hirsch’s How To Read A Poem and Fall In Love With Poetry. Yes, I do already know how to read a poem, but given how I’ve enjoyed Hirsch’s poetry, and how reading a book of poems can be a drag to me sometimes, I wanted to get some more perspective about how I could be doing it differently. So far, the book is lovely, comparing each poem to things like finding a message in a bottle, or a conversation with a complete stranger.  Hirsch loves poetry more than anyone I’ve ever met (save my friend Mike, who comments on this blog on occasion), so this should be a big help.  I also intend to finish this one before leaving for Boston.

Finally, I’ve been pondering whether or not to get my own domain name and leave WordPress behind. Michael Hyatt, CEO, publisher, and blogger extraordinaire, recommends serious bloggers do so. After talking with a few of my other blogger friends, it’s definitely something I want to do in this year. Another friend of mine (quite by accident) even gave me a potential name: brainy rhetoric.  What do you guys think?

Alright, I’ll see you guys Monday! Have a good weekend! Look forward to some immense discussions in the coming two weeks!  Going to have a LOT to talk about!

Leave a Reply

