Friday State of the Blog!

Well, it’s going to be a little tough getting back into the swing of things, balancing reading and blogging and not having it suck, but I think I can manage it. It’s good to be back!

I’m almost 3/4 of the way done with Ed Dobson’s The Year of Living Like Jesus. Ed seems like a pretty cool guy. The book is pretty much his personal journal through the whole year, so it’s not like it’s hard to read or anything, and it also displays what he’s really thinking the whole time. Honesty is a wonderful thing in Christian writing, and I find it to be a shame that we don’t see it very often. It’s not that all Christian writers are liars; I just wonder sometimes how honest they really are about how sure they are about what they believe.

I kinda put down Frankl and Wright for awhile as I read Dobson’s book, but I should be done with Dobson here pretty soon, so I’ll be up and at those books again soon!

Unrelated to books, I’ve decided to put my seminary hunt back on the shelf. The other night, I was driving home from work, and the thought occurred to me to do this. It left me rather relieved. I feel like I was trying to force my way onto a road God hasn’t intended for me to tread quite yet. No seminary jumped out at me in my searches, and continuing the hunt seemed rather unauthentic. I have been reassured that I will get there one day, but for now, my efforts need to be focused where I am, and I’m pretty excited about that. I still believe in this city, and I still think I’m not meant to leave it until I fulfill my purpose here. When that time comes, I will move on to where I am called. For now, I will root myself in Harrisburg, and I will wreak havoc upon it. >:)

See you guys on Monday!

One thought on “Friday State of the Blog!

  1. It never works to go against God’s plan. The difficulty is in the listening and it appears that you have. Wreak your havoc. No doubt Harrisburg will be the better for it.

Leave a Reply

