Friday State of the Blog!

Well, Wright’s back on the shelf. I’ll come back to it in due time. For now, there are other wonderful things to read. I actually get to meet him tomorrow, too! Whoot! Yay for meeting your theological heroes!

I did pick up a new book now: The Story of B by Daniel Quinn. This is the sequel to his book Ishmael , which I read some time ago. He has some interesting and rather provocative things to say about humanity, the Earth, and sustainability, so reading this should be fun. It’s all told from the perspective of a Roman Catholic priest sent to investigate a man named Charles Atterly, and to determine whether or not he’s the Anti-Christ (apparently his order, the Laurentians, takes this up as their task; the order is fictitious). It’s pretty interesting so far. If you haven’t read Ishmael, I highly recommend it.

I’m also still working my way through Peter Rollins’ The Orthodox Heretic and Other Impossible Tales, keeping a notebook of my thoughts on each one. He’s very steeped in postmodernism, sometimes to a major fault, but the root of the things he’s teaching through these tales I can, to some extent, agree with. Not exactly something I’d recommend to a layperson thus far, however. He’s too ambiguous.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at. I’ll see everyone on Monday!

One thought on “Friday State of the Blog!

  1. I’d love to hear your thoughts on B when you finish it. Like Ishmael, even if you take issue with some of his theories, it’s one of those books that, not to sound too pretentious, may very well change the way you approach a lot of things. Even if its just to make you stop and really consider why you think something that you do.

Leave a Reply

