The Man Project

Well, here goes. Here’s what I DON’T want this to be:

1) An Art of Manliness rip-off, though Brett and Kate McKay’s writings are very much an inspiration for this project.

2) A thing about how all of this stuff I find is for men only, though I am going to be speaking primarily to men here.

3) A testosterone fest. Many of the character traits I hope to talk about have been defined in the past as distinctly feminine, such as gentleness and compassion.  If anything, I want to dispel this myth.

I want this to be a series about values for humankind, not just men, so anyone who reads this should be able to say, “I wish to apply this/work on this in my own life.”  To state where I’m coming from, I am saying these things as a middle class, Christian white male.  Some of the stuff I plan on reading is written by the same kind of people, but I will try to hear everyone’s voice on these matters.

The reading list for this project is going to change constantly, I think, and be interspersed with unrelated readings.  Here’s what’s on the burner right now:

1) The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway.  This book spends some time wrestling with the meaning of masculinity, from what I understand.

2) Letters to Mamie by Dwight D. Eisenhower.

3) The Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster. One of the elements of humanity I think is key is a need for discipline.  Therefore, there will be many posts from this book as I read through it again.

4) Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time by Marcus Borg.  This is side reading for me regarding the Historical Jesus. Borg’s a Jesus Seminar fellow, and it’s proving to be interesting already, if a little bothersome.

Anyway, let’s see how this goes and I’ll be back tomorrow with another post, I hope.

2 thoughts on “The Man Project

Leave a Reply

