An Uninspired Post About David Foster Wallace And Other Matters

Just so you know, I did add two (well, three) other books to my reading at this time, as I am wont to do. I’m finding, however, that this is actually helping me reach my goal. How? I’m glad you asked!

1. It gives me a break from reading this huge book on anarchism.

2. It actually can help me buy time to read my huge book on anarchism. By reading other, somewhat shorter, books, I’m actually accomplishing my goal of one book per week while reading said huge book. It just means I have to juggle the other books into my reading routine on the days that I sit down to read.

So what else did I pick up?

The Tao Te Ching. I’ve been meaning to read this for awhile. Part of my massive reading diet included a section of religious texts (of sorts, anyway), and it’s apparently easy as all get out to read.  I intend to take my time where I can here, as this is one of those books you can come back to over and over again and learn something new.  There’s also how closely it’s actually linked to anarchism in a sort of forerunner sense. I’ll do a post on that later in the week.

Girl With Curious Hair by David Foster Wallace. This is a short story collection that I started and set back. If you’ve ever read Wallace, you know that sometimes you’re waiting for him to make his point, and other times you’re entirely enthralled in spite of that (and I’m sure that some snobby hipster/literary nerd just died inside reading that, or will when he keeps going here). Lots of irony, silence, and tension here, almost to the point where it gives you a headache, in some cases.  Favorite story thus far: “Luckily, the Account Representative Knew CPR.”

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Final installment of the Hunger Games trilogy. This deviates from the original plan, but since our youth retreat is all Hunger Games themed, I figure I should finish out the series so I have something to teach these youngsters.  I’ve been putting it off in favor of other readings, and I actually feel a little anxious to read it now, for whatever reason.

I haven’t much else to say, really. It was difficult to get any reading done over this busy weekend. All the same, I’ve got some time in the week where I’ll be able to get more accomplished. Until then, folks!

Leave a Reply

