For Your Contemplation

I’m beginning to feel the symptoms of a cold coming on, so I’m supposing it’s that time of year for me. This is also going to be a pretty busy week for me, between work and church things (including a youth retreat this weekend), so it’s going to be pretty hard to get any reading done. I had hoped to be done with all four books in my bag by the end of the month, but that’s not looking like it’s going to be possible at this point. Guess I’ll try to get done what I can.

Anyway, here’s a section of the Tao Te Ching for your contemplation:

Though thirty spokes may form the wheel,
it is the hole within the hub
which gives the wheel utility.
It is not the clay the potter throws,
which gives the pot its usefulness,
but the space within the shape, from which the pot is made.
Without a door, the room cannot be entered,
and without windows it is dark.
Such is the utility of non-existence.

One thought on “For Your Contemplation

  1. If you like Tao Te Ching, I highly recommend a book called Christ the Eternal Tao by Hieromonk Damascene. He connects the words of the ancient philosopher with the prophets of the Old Testament and the fulfillment of the Word made flesh.

Leave a Reply

