Book #2: Thoughts On Mockingjay

Between August and September of last year, at the prompting of my friends, I began reading The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I’m not one to really go after popular series of this nature, especially considering how much I loathe young adult fiction, but several friends whose opinions on literature I trust recommended the series, so I borrowed the books and began reading.

The first two books took me merely three days each to read. If I didn’t have to work, eat, sleep, or socialize, it wouldn’t have taken me so long.

The third book took me some time to get to, and I’m not entirely sure why. There was a lot of other reading going on, and I suppose, in some ways, I didn’t want to read it, knowing the story would eventually end, and that ending probably wasn’t going to satisfy (I was wrong; it did). Either way, I finally got around to it.

My friend Rachel describes Mockingjay as “getting punched in the kidney over and over again in the best way possible.” This couldn’t be more true.  Mockingjay picks up right at the point where the second book leaves off, with the revolution in full swing. The book follows our lovely heroine Katniss as she struggles to understand her role in the new revolution, with all the districts rising against the Capitol, and looks at her internal fights with whom she loves, what she’s fighting for, and who her true friends are. It’s an emotional roller coaster ride that threatens to throw the reader right off in the best imaginable way.

I liked this book because it wasn’t afraid to show the collateral damage and aftermath of a revolution.  I used to think revolution was pretty cool when I was in high school, but as I’ve grown, I’ve come to view resorting to violence in anything as a bad idea (that whole “eye for an eye” thing doesn’t sit well with me). Collins does a good job showing how, in fighting for any cause, you can lose your ability to be human. She doesn’t glorify violence, but uses it as a tool, and does a good job to boot.

Overall, I highly recommend this series.  Good, easy read, but also gripping and truthful.

Leave a Reply

