Friday State of the Blog!

We are now four books down and on track to meet the goal of 52 books in one year! However, there’s been some changes made to the list:

1) The additions of Mockingjay. I added this book for two reasons: a) I wanted to finish the series, and b) our youth retreat was Hunger Games themed this year. This actually bumps the list to 53 books, and I haven’t decided whether to just keep it that way, or to subtract another one.

2) I swapped out two books to add some “career development” reading: The Great Shark Hunt for On Writing Well and The Parallax View for 48 Days to the Work You Love. I chose the latter on recommendation from Donald Miller (and my dad). Apparently, William Zissner (the author) really knows his stuff when it comes to nonfiction writing, and, being a blogger at the very least, this is something I want to cultivate. The latter I picked because my wife wanted me to read it, and not in a “you need to get your act together” way, but in a “I see your frustration with your job and want to help you find a way out” way, so it’s on the shelf now.

3) I also exchanged Little Flowers for The Divine Hours by Phyllis Tickle. This is going to be my devotional reading for Lent.

Even with all those changes, though, I’ve still got a large amount of reading to do, and I’m still working on Demanding the Impossible. The next book I’m adding to my bag (and hopefully the only one for awhile) is Authority and Passion by Orthodox Archbishop Demetrios. The author is going to be the keynote speaker at a symposium on patristics I’m attending at Princeton Theological Seminary on Feb. 15, so I thought it would be good to read at least one of his books (this one is actually on the Christology of St. Mark).

In all, we’re on task to keep moving, albeit a little haphazardly. See you Monday with my thoughts on book #4: Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck!

Leave a comment