Friday State of the Blog(ger)!

Another book down!  Go me!

At this point, however, I’m going to be veering off course a bit from the list.  In an effort to understand both sides of debate over Enns book Inspiration and Incarnation, I’m going to be reading a response from one of his critics; his former colleague at Westminster Theological Seminary, GK Beale.  The book is entitled The Erosion of Inerrancy in Evangelicalism: Responding to New Challenges to Biblical Authority.  I won’t lie; the title doesn’t enthuse me. Given my reading of Enns and seeing more of a conversational, lets-talk-about-this style, it hardly seemed a “challenge” to inerrancy, which paints a picture of a defensive Beale in my mind.  This isn’t going to be easy for me for a couple reasons: 1) I don’t do well reading criticisms of authors I tend to support, and 2) I have difficulty not pre-judging men like Beale, despite their academic credentials (the man has a PhD from Cambridge).  It’s important for me to remember that criticisms of work are not criticisms of the author in question, and that, even though the worldview is different from mine, it is still a valid one.  I will be sure to treat Beale with as much fairness and objectivity as I am able to muster.

Also, special thanks to my friend Angelo Valle for lending me this book!  He blogs occasionally; you should read it.

I took on two other books as well: Why I am Not a Christian by Betrand Russell, and Where I’m Calling From by Raymond Carver.  Though I really wanted to attempt to reduce the number of books I was reading at once, both of these are collections of writings, the former being essays on Christianity and the latter being short stories, so they’re something I can turn to, read a selection of, and put it aside.  I’m also reading Russell with a friend, so I intend to continue doing so to keep up with discussion.

Alright, have a wonderful weekend, everyone!  I’m working this weekend, so someone have a beer for me!

One thought on “Friday State of the Blog(ger)!

  1. I’m so jealous that you’re just hitting Carver – what I would give to experience those stories fresh again.

    Free advice – some of those stories end up being a “wait . . . what happened?” type of story. Stick with them – there are some amazing gems in that collection.

Leave a Reply

