Another Vacation and Reimagining

As my public service announcement last week stated, posts are going to be sporadic for a time because I’m devoting so much work to my sermon series. What I’m announcing today is that I’m scrapping this project. Why?

1) I’m not learning much, if anything at all. Seriously, when you’re reading books for speed, you get nothing out of them, and I hate it. When I have all the time in the world to read something, I learn and gain so much more.

2) I need to put back books I’m not ready to read, and this project doesn’t allow for that.

3) It’s me trying to look smart again. Granted, every blogger does this. If you blog, admit it. That’s the whole point of blogging; you have a perspective you think warrants merit and you want to put it out there for complete strangers to hear.

Now, the blog itself isn’t going anywhere yet. I’m not sure what I want to do or how I’d do it, but it may go the way of the buffalo in favor of a different themed blog here on WordPress or one I host myself. I’d like to stick to my guns and just write about theology, but I read about so much outside of theology that there’s no room to talk about that other stuff, and that kind of makes me sad. I don’t know. There’s a lot of ideas in my head, and I just want to find the one I want to stick with most.

So, today, the list and game plan pages come down. I’ll still have my own copy of the list and read through most of the stuff on it, but some of the books I put on there were more for filler than actual desire to read, so I’ll get around to them when I want to. Thoughts on the books I read will still get posted; they’ll just be more theology oriented for the time being.

Know this: this isn’t a matter of depression or sorrow that I’m leaving this behind. Believe it or not, I’m actually doing well right now. I’m learning to like my job, my wife and I are doing great, and God is opening doors for me in places I never expected him to do. Big changes are coming for me, like moving to Middletown at the end of June and getting to preach at my church (my first time in four years starts tonight!). Things are great; I just need to take time to see how this blog will change with me.

Have fun guys! I’ll be seeing you soon!

One thought on “Another Vacation and Reimagining

  1. Pingback: Four Years Later | Everything is Theology

Leave a Reply

