Back in the Saddle

So, after a long hiatus, it’s time to ease back into this blogging business.

On that note, what have I been doing/reading lately?

Well, I Just rocked a sermon series on the Sermon on the Mount (with the help of a friend). My friend Ian asked me if I could teach about one thing, what would it be?  I told him it would be the Sermon on the Mount.  Next thing I knew, I was teaching about it. It’s my favorite section of scripture, and it’s been fun walking through it with our community.  I’m glad to be stepping away from it now, because that means I can get back to blogging, but I look forward to doing more in the future.

I’m in the third week of a copy writing course.  I keep hearing good things about the freelance copy writing market, so I thought I’d try my hand at it, and it’s been pretty interesting and fun so far. The professor seems to like what I submit, and I have fun doing the assignments she posts, so hopefully something can come out of my taking this course.

Now, what have I been reading lately?

The Weakness of God: A Theology of the Event by John Caputo. This has been particularly fascinating for me as it operates within a theological tradition birthed in the 20th and 21st centuries and based on the idea that there was an actual death of God that took place in the crucifixion. I have no intention of expounding on the implications of that viewpoint, but what Caputo is doing is looking at theology and Christianity through a postmodern philosophical lens, drawing from Derrida, Heidegger, and process theologian Catherine Keller.  Caputo is also a big contributor to the field of theopoetics, which attempts to talk about God through poetic articulations of personal experience, rather than a scientific explanation (such as systematic theology). I’m only about 70 pages in, and it’s pretty compelling.  

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking.  This was his famous pop-science book that he published in 1988, and it deals with Hawking’s view of cosmology.  As the cover says, it attempts to explain a wide range of subjects, from the Big Bang to black holes.  This is another point of interest to me because I never paid enough attention to this stuff in high school (and I wish I had).  It’s pretty high level for  a pop-science book, but he reads more easily than some science authors do. 

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King. I read this book in high school, and I’m happy to see that much of what I learned from it then has managed to stick. It’s a great book for anyone who’s interested in cultivating writing even as a personal craft, whether you choose to write fiction or non-fiction. I find myself gravitating toward this book more often than the other two, as King’s voice is a little easier for me to follow than the high-brow academic talk of Hawking, and the fluent postmodern language that Caputo uses.

 

So that’s what I’ve been up to the last few weeks.  I plan to ease myself back into the saddle of blogging, and I hope that while I do so I’ll find some new direction for this little blog of mine.  There’s a purpose in all the stuff I read and do; I just don’t fully know how to communicate it in a way that you, my reader, can apply it as well.  Here’s to finding that purpose!

See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

