Monday State of the Blog(ger)!

Sorry I haven’t been around for a couple weeks. I’ve been picking up quite a bit of overtime at work as well as a few odd jobs here and there as they present themselves. I’ve also been traveling like a mad man; the wife and I took a trip up to Syracuse a couple weeks ago to see our college friends get married, then took a trip to Stroudsburg this past week for the funeral of her grandfather.  Long story short, getting any blogging done has been pretty difficult.

I live in an unfortunate tension between what I do for a living and what I love to do.  Although my job at the hospital is pretty much paying off our student debt and I’m getting better at it every day, it’s far from the things I like doing or would like to do for a living.  The problem is that I spend so much time there that things like this get put on the back burner for long periods of time.  Other things don’t slow down all the time; I still get to be a youth leader and to teach at my church gathering, but I would love to be writing for a living, and there’s a lot of steps on that path to even get me a first paycheck for such a thing. There’s trying to nail down what to write about, or how to justify writing across a wide swath of topics.  There’s establishing oneself as a quality writer, which requires time to produce quality writing, and all that gets used as overtime at my hospital job (hey, it’s guaranteed income).   It’s far from easy, and I wish I were in better position to attack it with full force.

I live with this tension every day.  Some days I feel it more than others, and some days I’m better at making some sort of headway than others.  Either way, this is where I live right now, and what else can a man do while he’s here other than ride it out?

In other news, I’ve diverted my reading to the matters of racism, primarily looking at the Civil Rights Era.  I’ve added a really fascinating book to the pile called Hands on the Freedom Plow, which is a collection of stories from women who were heavily active in the SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee).   They’re phenomenal stories, and it’s amazing to hear from someone who’s not MLK or one of the other leading men of the Civil Rights Movement.  Highly recommend.

Posts will be coming and going as I am able to get them up, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

