Wonder Women and Other News

bookworld1012131381017243This isn’t something I would normally do, but given the nature of the book and my heavy reading schedule at this time, I feel comfortable enough to point you in the direction of Deborah Spar’s new book Wonder Women: Sex, Power, and the Quest for Perfection. The president of Barnard College, Spar was actually the inspiration behind Sheryl Sandberg’s book Lean In. Spar’s book takes this time to survey not how far women have come but how far they have to go in their struggle for equal rights.  It seems to be gaining quite a bit of attention, and I certainly plan to pick up a copy in the coming weeks. Check out an excerpt of it here.

In other news, I’ll be having at radical theology again in a little while; until then, I’ve received a few books that require my attention through the SpeakEasy and other sources. Fortunately, I don’t plan on going anywhere today (it’s snowing and I’m off work this week), so I should be able to make a good dent in my reading.  Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

