Friday State of the Blog(ger)

I love getting books in the mail, but when I have to review them within 30 days, it can get a little stressful, such as when I receive not one, not two, but THREE Speakeasy books all in one clip, and I’m pretty sure there’s another one on the way. Therefore, a special thank you goes out to Old Man Winter 2014 for bringing the South to a grinding halt with the polar vortex and heavy (1-2 inches) snow (seriously, you Southerners need to learn how to drive in the snow), thus rendering the US Postal Service incapacitated for long periods of time. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

(Yeah, I know.  Good problems)

All the same, this’ll make for some exciting reading this month. I returned any and all library books (sadface) so that I could focus on more pressing readings (like a dumptruck load of Speakeasy books) and A Scandalous Providence, which is royally kicking my ass in the best way possible (don’t ya love it when books do that?). I’m trying to shoehorn an hour of reading into my everyday “routine” (rotating shifts really sucks for that sort of thing), so hopefully I can kick some butt on reading this month and knock these bad boys out (and there’s some good stuff in the bunch too).

Other than that, I’m doing pretty well. The Lenten season is upon us, and I hope to gain much from my activities therein (leaving those undisclosed; no need to parade my fasting about in the streets as Matthew’s Pharisees supposedly did). No word on other job opportunities yet, and I’m not exactly holding my breath. I think I’ll just take what’s given me for a little while longer; things do work out pretty well here, regardless of my endless frustration with my debt-obscured career path.

**THE MAGIC MURDER BAG**

  • A Scandalous Providence by E. Frank Tupper
  • Cosmos Reborn by John Crowder
  • Living the Questions by David Felten and Jeff Procter-Murphy
  • Rightly Dividing the Word of Truth Edited by LeDayne McLeese Polaski & Millard Eiland

Have a good weekend, droogs.

Leave a Reply

