Friday State of the Blog(ger)

So many books…such little time that isn’t taken up by work, social obligations, and sleep…if only I got paid to do this stuff.

The Magic Murder Bag:

  1. A Scandalous Providence by E. Frank Tupper  (Yes, still working on this one; it’s like eating an entire elephant one piece at a time…a very delicious, theological elephant…)
  2. Too Good To Be True: Radical Christian Preaching, Year A by Christopher Rodkey ( a pretty awesome pastor from Dallastown, PA, whose work is primarily in radical theology; great stuff)
  3. Patience & Fortitude: A Roving Chronicle of Book People, Book Places, and Book Culture by Nicholas Basbanes (A book about books…nerdiest goodness right here)

I also recently finished Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley; review of that forthcoming.

I’m still trying to decide whom to base my author project on; currently, I’m torn between a few gentlemen…

  • Wolfhart Pannenberg.  I heard about this guy through Homebrewed Christianity and did a little research.  The summaries of his work that I’ve found are very interesting, though I only have his Christology.  I’ve actually made his books my weight loss rewards (every ten pounds I drop and keep off for a week, I get one of his books). He utilizes prolepsis, effectively foreshadowing, as the main basis for his systematic theology and his understanding of the Gospels (no, I don’t know how that works out; I need to read it first!).
  • Paul Tillich. This man is a boss when it comes to twentieth-century theologians, impacting people inside and outside the Christian camp with his work in existential theology.  I actually have quite a few of his books that I’ve picked up in used bookstores, and it seems I can’t find anyone who hasn’t read him (besides me).
  • Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  Do I really need to explain this one?  Seriously, this guy is amazing, and I happened upon a literal treasure trove of his writings when one of the booksellers in Harrisburg came across about 10 paperbacks of his writings and GAVE THEM TO ME.
  • Friedrich Nietzche. I can summarize Nietzsche’s philosophy pretty well, I think, but I can’t articulate it to save my life.  I also just got several of his works on audiobook, so this is something I could perhaps do in addition to one of the other authors.

There’s a host of others I could do this on (Kierkegaard, Camus, Wittgenstein, etc.), but these are the ones in the forefront.  Anybody got any thoughts on who to pick, or perhaps suggestions of their own?

Leave a Reply

