Friday State of the Blog(ger)

Somehow wound up with two more Speakeasy books…oh well.

The Magic Murder Bag

**New Stuff**

  • Blood Doctrine by Christian Piatt
  • Theology From Exile Volume II: The Year of Matthew by Sea Raven

**Still Going**

  • A Scandalous Providence by E. Frank Tupper
  • Too Good To Be True: Radical Christian Preaching, Year A by Christopher Rodkey )
  • Patience & Fortitude: A Roving Chronicle of Book People, Book Places, and Book Culture by Nicholas Basbanes 

I’ve decided to undertake a study of Dietrich Bonhoeffer as my big author reading project, mostly because of a Barrel-Aged Homebrewed Podcast on Jeffrey Pugh’s book Religionless Christianity: Dietrich Bonhoeffer in Troubled Times.  It’s really revving up my Bonhoeffer interest, and I’ve been meaning to return to Bonhoeffer for some time now anyway.  Pannenberg and Tillich are going to happen at some point; I just have the most resources on Bonhoeffer right now.

Thoughts on Present Discontents

I’m doing pretty well. I do have a LOT of overtime coming up at work (we’re talking 50-60 hour work weeks), which inevitably may lead to less reading and/or posting (c’est la vie!).  I am struggling somewhat with looking ahead and what I intend to do in terms of a career. This, of course, is not a NEW struggle, but I have begun to think that it may be high time to consider returning to school for another work.  I know very well that theology is an obsession of mine, one that will continue with me to the grave.  I also know that I will remain involved deeply with whatever church I find myself in, hopefully in whatever youth group they have.  I keep wondering, however, if these things will ever be a source of income.

Doesn’t it always boil down to that?  We do the things we love, but do the things we love make sure we have food in our mouths?  Must we always trade stability and comfort for our passions?  The answers can be yes and no for either question, but each person’s career path is entirely relative.; what worked for one person isn’t always going to work for another.

We all know these things, and no doubt many of us have had to ask this question at some point in our lives.  Perhaps I am asking it too early; there is still my undergraduate debt to finish off, and my wife, far more certain about her career path, wants to get her MBA.

It is my hope that all will become clear as time goes by and I continue to search for answers to these questions.  Until then, I also hope that I can enjoy the ride.

See you guys on Monday.

Leave a Reply

