Tuesday State of the Blog(ger)

I’ve gotten a LOT of books in the last few weeks. Not complaining, just saying. My Magic Murder Bag has gotten quite heavy…

***THE MAGIC MURDER BAG***

All of these are brand new except one…

A Scandalous Providence by E. Frank Tupper. Yes, I’m still working on this one.

New Seeds of Contemplation by Thomas Merton. We picked this one up for the Thursday night group I attend here in Middletown. I’ve been meaning to reread this one, perhaps at a slower pace. Such good stuff!

I Wear the Black Hat by Chuck Klosterman. It’s a book about villains real and imagined, and it’s a lot of fun! Klosterman has a way of being deep and hilarious at the same time, and I love it.

Process Theology: A Guide for the Perplexed by Bruce Epperly.   I’ve been meaning to read more about process theology for some time now, and several folks have said this is a great place to start.  I may even have some forthcoming posts on the subject!

Being and Time by Martin Heidegger.  I found this at the Hershey Library last week, and it’s something I’ve wanted to tackle for some time, but I’m not so sure I’m going to keep up very well with it.  Talking about existence isn’t exactly easy, and Heidegger wasn’t exactly known for plain language.

Console Wars by Blake Harris.  It’s all about the war between Sega and Nintendo.  As someone raised by both systems (though preferring Genesis), this is right in my wheelhouse.

A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean.  Yes, it’s a romance novel.  No, I don’t have to hand you my man card.  This came in my Quarterly package from Book Riot, and it’s not so bad so far.  I’ve never been one to bother with romance novels, but hey, we’re all about pushing boundaries around here.

The Shadow of Fate by John Scritchfield.  A pathetic book by a pathetic little man who fancies himself a writer (even though he’s studying theatre; what a loser).  I don’t know how he intends to make it as an author. :)

OK, totally kidding.  It’s actually a really great dystopia scifi/fantasy novel.  Once he publishes it, I’ll be requiring the lot of you droogs to pick up a copy.

 

I don’t intend to review all of these on here; some of these are just for fun.  Besides, I want to get back to what this blog is all about, which brings me to…

Thoughts on Present Discontents 

My work schedule has mellowed out (for the time being), so I want to get back into writing here more.  I have to start building up a reading base again (my views took a nosedive when I changed the name), and, frankly, I miss it.  I miss blogging, I miss theological discourse, I miss having time to get my thoughts out there. Expect more posts, and hold me to that statement, if you don’t mind.

In other news, I’ve begun pondering a career change of sorts (again).  My background in theology has given me so much…except for a paycheck.  Don’t get me wrong: I know money isn’t everything and you don’t always have to/get to be paid for your passion. Theology will always play a huge part in my life and I will always have an active role in whichever church I attend.

However, I question if this is going to be a source of income for me, or, for that matter, if that’s what I really want.

I have my reasons, but I don’t really feel like spelling them out here (if you really wanna know, feel free to ask, I guess).  I just know that I’m not happy with things as they stand, and I have to start taking steps to finding work that makes me happy.  My absence from the theo-internet plays a factor in my dissatisfaction, but perhaps it’s a privation worth examining.  I simply want to know where my education will serve me (and my wife) best.

Either way, I hope to get more content up here in the coming days, so look for some new things!

Leave a Reply

