Tuesday State of the Blog(ger)

I have a bit of a big announcement to make…well, three of them…

1. I have decided not to return to seminary, at least not for a long time. The climate of academia, especially with regard to theology, is far too volatile right now.  I hear many voices forecasting the end of the seminary in the next 15-20 years, and it seems foolish to me to want to return to a sinking ship.  What I intend to do is step back and observe, see what happens in the world of theological academia, and then decide whether to return to seminary or perhaps take an alternate route of study in the world of philosophy and religion.  This isn’t me giving up on theology by any means (as Peter said to Jesus, “Where else would I go?”); I’m only trying to be a little strategic about where I go in this world post-undergrad.

2. In the meantime, I’ve begun to look for an alternate vocation, and I have become quite interested in library sciences.  This may seem like I am jumping from one sinking ship to another (Forbes wrote an article a couple years ago saying that an MLIS was the worst paying degree you could get), but I believe in the cause and mission of libraries much in the same way I believe in the church and its mission. I see this also as enhancing my work in theology (HELLO, access to LOTS more books!) as well as giving back to a community.

3.  I will always remain involved in the church.  Again, where else would I go?  However, I’ve begun to take another look at the level of ministry involvement I have and have begun to research ordination within some of the open and affirming mainline denominations (UCC, Disciples of Christ, ELCA, etc.).  Some have lay-minister training that leads right to full ordination, and while I’ve balked at the thought of part/full time ministry in the past, I’m putting it back on the table.

 

I feel like saying this on here makes it more concrete. It’s a public declaration of my intentions, and I hope you guys will find it in your hearts to support me in my endeavors.  This blog will continue to be all about theology in everything.   My lack of consistent posting will continue, don’t you worry!

Anyway, here’s what I’m reading right now..

 

**THE MAGIC MURDER BAG**

A Scandalous Providence by E. Frank Tupper.

New Seeds of Contemplation by Thomas Merton.

The Gospel of Christian Atheism by Thomas J. J. Altizer

The Cost of Disicpleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

The Passage by Justin Cronin

Leave a Reply

